Chocolate. Oatmeal. Anytime.

This has been a wonderful weekend. It has been low key. I have spent time with friends and family. I ran outside. I have Monday off.

WIN!

But. The best thing (so far) of this delicious long weekend was my lunch today. I had oatmeal, as usual, for breakfast and immediately wanted more. So I started plotting my lunch. I also thought about my favorite sweets blog, Chocolate Covered Katie, and her chocolate oatmeal.

I got back to my apartment after some errands and immediately started the oatmeal that changed the universe. That might be a bit of an overstatement. But only slightly.

What to do:

Put the following ingredients in a big bowl (this is one serving’s worth but it looks like way, way more. You can thank Katie).

1/2 Cup Rolled Oats (not instant)
Dash of Salt
2-1/2 Cups Water

Microwave for three minutes. Let site in the ‘wave for five or ten more minutes. This is a good time do other stuff in your house…like put away clothes, or plug in the computer, or gather the chocolate for oatmeal.

Ok. Now add the following…

1 Tablespoon Sweetener (I used Stevia)–to taste
1 Tablespoon Unsweetened Cocoa (I used Ghiradelli…it’s amazing)
1/4 Cup Soy Milk
(I added raisins–totally skippable but not bad as an add-in) 

Stir! Microwave for another minute.

Top with a heaping spoon of peanut butter.

Sit down.

Dim the lights.

Turn on some mood music.

Experience chocolate, oatmeal, peanut butter bliss.

Partners in Delicious Crime

2 thoughts on “Chocolate. Oatmeal. Anytime.

    • Be careful–I shared it with one friend and she’s been eating it once or twice a day. But it’s totally healthy. Thank goodness for CCK’s inspiration!

Leave a Reply

